Hello, I’m Googlebot

Strange and Surprising! Many will take this as a joke or some kind of trick for pulling some buzz, but let me tell you this….this had happened to my blog.

On 6th December, 2007 I made a post on PayPerPost Review. I was taken off for a ride when on 9th December I saw a comment From Google Bot.

Message - “Hello, I’m Googlebot”
Email - Googlebot@gmail.com
Website – google.com
IP – 202.75.49.178

Hi From Google Bot

The reason I am more amazed as the comment was on PPP post. Recent Google update was on paid links where many sites got penalized. Many sites got hit because of some kind of connection with buying or selling paid links.

I have checked the IP address – it’s from Malaysia. Upon finding the other details all I have got is a blank page with a message. Find the screen shot given below.

So can it be considered as a warning from Google? Means, they have forwarded me a notice upon joining PPP and wanted me to understand that I should not get into any kind of buying or selling links. Or it’s a silly joke someone has played. But again, how many of us has spare time to waste without any interest on someone else blog.

So can we say it was Google??? And if yes, then WHY ????

Technorati ,


3 Responses to “Hello, I’m Googlebot”  

  1. 1 Bill The Annoying

    I think it is SPAM from www goldbizhost com.

    I got a similar one, as did others blogs.

  2. 2 Sourav

    So my question is - what you will gain for spaming Google’s name….

    Sourav

  3. 3 Abby

    The girl who does the blog for our website got one as well. And we have spam protection. I don’t know what it is!

Leave a Reply